Election 2015 Coverage & Debate

Confirmed Candidates

Gordon Henderson

Conservative Party

Gordon has served on both Swale Borough Council and Kent County Council and was elected Member Of Parliament at the last General Election in 2010.

Gary Miller

Green Party

Gary wants a Government that has everybody's interests at heart and that rejects austerity. He believes a massive injection of public spending would get the country moving. 

Guy Nicholson

Labour Party

Guy's campaign calls for a thriving local economy and public services that support a growing community which in turn will improve the quality of life for everyone.

Keith Nevols

Liberal Democrats

Keith believes in the positive attributes of immigration and freedom of movement but also a crack down on those that play the system and the introduction of exit checks.

Mad Mike Young

Monster Raving Loony Party

63-year-old Mad Mike, of Parsonage Chase in Minster, is no election newbie, having already attempted to win this seat in three general elections for his party.

Richard Palmer

UK Independence Party

Richard believes that we need to get people into work. He says UKIP have the right ideas on tax and businesses that will help growth. This will create jobs and increase wealth.

Election 2015

If you wish to listen again to our "Sittingbourne Election Questions" Debate, recorded at The Crescent Hall on Wednesday 22nd April 2015 and transmitted on Monday 27th April 2015, please click on the link below (this will open in a new page):-

Listen Again (Click Here): Election Debate

General Election 2015: Sittingbourne and Sheppey 
Party Candidate Votes % ±%
  Conservative Gordon Henderson 24,425     
  Green Gary Miller 1,185     
  Liberal Democrat Keith Nevols 1,568     
  Labour Guy Nicholson 9,673     
  UKIP Richard Palmer 12,257     
  Monster Raving Loony Mad Mike Young 275     
Turnout   65.2   
General Election 2010: Sittingbourne and Sheppey
Party Candidate Votes % ±%
  Conservative Gordon Henderson 24,313 50.0 +8.3
  Labour Angela Harrison 11,930 24.6 -17.1
  Liberal Democrat Keith Nevols 7,943 16.4 +3.6
  UKIP Ian Davison 2,610 5.4 +3.1
  BNP Lawrence Tames 1,305 2.7 N/A
  Monster Raving Loony Mad Mike Young 319 0.7 +0.7
  Independent David Cassidy 158 0.3 +0.3
Majority 12,383 25.5  
Turnout 48,578 64.5 +10.8
  Conservative gain from Labour Swing +12.7  


100% Local Radio for Sittingbourne